Nice Surprise in the Garden



In my garden there is a large place for sentiment.  
My garden of flowers is also my garden of thoughts and dreams.  
The thoughts grow as freely as the flowers, and the dreams are as beautiful.  
~Abram L. Urban
Several years ago, my late father and I planted a hydrangea garden in my backyard.
All of the plants came from Wilkerson Mill Gardens, a plant nursery that has the most wonderful collection of hard to find and unusual hydrangeas.
Unfortunately, we had to have some trees cut down last year.   I hate the thought of cutting down a tree, but these were huge pine trees that could have easily fallen on our house.  The tree gods must have been angry, because the tree cutters destroyed my hydrangea garden (and all of my small Japanese maples – I get weepy just thinking about it.)  
But, I got a lovely surprise this spring among the azaleas – my Annabelle Hydrangea survived poking its stems triumphantly toward old sol!
There’s a lot of sentimental attachment to this plant in particular, not only because my dad helped me plant it, but my bridesmaids carried Annabelle Hydrangeas in my wedding – they are my favorite flower.
And, there’s another smaller hydrangea beside it that is not yet blooming, so I have no idea which one it is.
Another surprise to anticipate – yippee!
I will eventually have to replant them because they don’t look so great crowded in with the azaleas, but that’s okay! 
Here’s to surprises!
Cheers!
Leave a Reply

